Posted by: PatrickJL | November 27, 2013

I’m 57% of an architect!

As with the majority if these exams, I walk out with an air of melancholy, not knowing what the score will be. I felt that I studied the content thoroughly but they throw so many random questions at you it’s hard to judge.

Today I received an email to check my NCARB account for my score. I click the link. My heart immediately starts to pump like I’m running at full speed. I log in, navigate over to the ARE section. I pull my head away and cover the screen with anything I can find on my desk. I want to look, to see if I’m one step closer to my goal or stuck in a six month limbo before I can submit myself to this agony once again, but I can’t. This frozen state of the unknown is where I choose to be. I’m terrified of the idea that I will need to spend more months studying and then retake this exam. I take a deep breath and lower my hands…

20131127-144122.jpg

Low and behold I passed! Four tests down, three to go. I can’t explain the feeling I get when I see this, I don’t know what I will feel when I finally pass the seventh and last exam.

Responses

  1. what do you recommend as the most critical things to study for PPP and SPD? I’m taking SPD in 16 days.
    Cheers.

    • I used the PPI study guide, AREforum (before it became defunct), NCARB program, and JennyPDX notes. Also took some practice exams and made sure I was comfortable using NCARB’s crappy CAD program. AREcoach is another good resource, seems to be stepping up and taking AREforum’s place. Good Luck!

      • So the forum is kaput for good?

      • It seems that way. I have no idea what happened but it’s been months since I’ve been able to log in.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 454 other followers

