Posted by: PatrickJL | March 2, 2009

Eero Saarinen: Shaping the Future

Thursday night I met Tom at the Saarinen Exhibit at the Kemper Art Museum. Eero’s Daughter, Susan Saarinen, gave a great lecture and a different look at the architect that we have studied about. He was a workaholic, no surprise, but he also was a whole different person other than an architect. He had a sense of humor, and a good one at that! While we heard about Eero’s life as an architect, we were also given a perspective of the man from his daughter.

He was in good company too. His closest college friend was Charles Eames. Just think that someone we know might be as well known as one of these two some day. Well, maybe.

As you can see, there were some famous spectators in the crowd. It was a great lecture and I wish I had more time to walk around the exhibit. I’m definitely going back before it leaves St. Louis. As I walked out of the lecture hall and grabbed my ASSA ABLOY Eero Saarinen chocolate bar, I kid you not, there was a display of all the submissions for the Jefferson National Expansion Competition. Along the perimeter of this display were designs submitted in a charrette by students from various schools in the region. On the photo of all the teams, low and behold, I spot the one and only Michael Buono. Later on, whilst writing this post, I see what I think is the face of Traci Sooter down in the middle.

I cannot begin to make this up.

Leave a Reply

Categories

