Posted by: PatrickJL | August 16, 2012

When did I decide to become an architect?

This post is in response to a book giveaway on ArchDaily.  To enter the contest all you had to do was describe when you knew you wanted to be an architect.

I have wanted to be an architect since around age 6.  I can attribute my desire to becoming an architect to two things, my favorite toy as a child, LEGO, and the movie Three Men and a Baby – yes, that movie.  I’ll explain.

Reason 1: LEGO

I wish this was around when I was a kid…Hell, who am I kidding?  I’m going to get this now.

When I would get a new set, I would meticulously follow the directions and put it together only to immediately tear it apart and building something new with the pieces.  I was fascinated with the idea of taking this pile of “bricks” and creating new worlds and then populating it with various LEGO people.  I would spend hours (and years) playing with LEGO.  In fact, 20+ years later and I still have them!
Reason 2: Three Men and a Baby

I can’t help but to make strong gestures at every site visit because of this movie.

Yes, the movie with Tom Selleck, Ted Danson, and Steve Guttenberg.  Tom Selleck’s character was an architect and in any film’s typical portrayal of an architect, it showed Peter Mitchell (Selleck’s character) drafting at his desk, walking around a half built skyscraper with a roll of drawings pointing at things, and generally living a carefree lifestyle.  I remember asking my mom what his job was because it seemed so interesting to me – Hell, interesting to any 6 year old I’d bet.  Since Three Men and a Baby released in 1987, I probably didn’t see it until a year or so later, I figured I was around age 6 when I decided to become an architect…and I haven’t looked back since.

Quite possibly the best line in the movie (thanks to architexploitation.blogspot.com): “I’m an architect for Christ sake, I build 50 story skyscrapers, I assemble cities of the future, I can certainly put together a goddamn diaper.”

Of course, there were other reasons I wanted to become an architect but these two were definitely the first time I considered the possibility.

When did you decide you wanted to be an architect?

Responses

  1. Reblogged this on Brandon Quade Pages.


Leave a Reply

Categories

